Clarity or What the ?


My partner told me that my last blog on Right Intention is hard to follow.  This makes perfect sense since I was working from a book that has the words “mental clarity” in the title.  Obviously, I need to be reading the book.

Basically, the books says that Right Intention is automatic, that it is the living of values in each moment, and that if you set your own intention, and then get some peace with your unruly mind, you will be more authentic.

Like all books about Buddhism, it clearly states that we are not our thoughts, feelings, personal history, profession or anything other than a moment in time, a sensory experience, or, in this case, an intention.

I told my partner today that I think personality is a construct derived totally or almost totally from conditioning.  Personality is not a self, it’s not who we are.  It’s a series of disguises built to withstand the pressures of life in this world.

I’m not sure if living in a centered presence and modulating our own craziness with a set of automatic intentions is really a self.  I’ll have to let you know.

But I hope this clears up any misunderstanding about what I was talking about before.  I hardly ever really know what I’m talking about, and I may be a figment of my own imagination anyhow, so I wouldn’t really worry about it if I were you.  (That means you, Ms. Criticism of My Clarity.)

Leave a Reply

